With HK Olimps Riga and HK Dinaburg Daugavpils two new clubs will participate in the OHL.

Daugavpils, the second largest city in the country, returns with the team “Dinaburg” on the map of Latvian hockey league. The last time Daugavpils participated in the Latvian Ice Hockey Championship was 2013-14.

In the Optibethokejaliga (OHL) a new team, “Olimps Riga”, will participate. Nicolai Sirotkin, a local ice hockey player, came to the club meeting to represent this club. The head coach of the Olimps team will be Maxim Shirokov, who represented “Prizma Riga” last season. He participated in two world championships with the Latvian national team. “Olimp Riga” is still looking for a homestead. It was unofficially announced that the matches could be played in the “Arena Riga”.

The OHL left the team of HK Lido, which participated in the highest league of the national championship for the first time last season. In the new season, eight teams compete in the OHL.

OHL clubs for the 2019/2020 season:
HK Mogo, HK Kurbads, HK Prizma Riga, HK Zemgale / LLU, HK Liepaja, HS Riga, HK Dinaburg Daugavpils, HK Olimps Riga.

The regular season of the Latvian championship starts on September 7th. The exact calendar will be announced in August 2019.