The Continental Hockey League (KHL) today released the complete schedule of games for the 2019-20 regular season, the league’s 12th year of operation.

KHL Logo

The season, with 24 teams playing a total of 744 games, begins on sunday, 1st September and concludes on Thursday, 27th February 2020.

Following the departure of Slovan Bratislava, the divisions were changed. There will now be six teams in each division. Torpedo will therefore play in the Tarasov Division next season, returning to the West Conference. The vacated space will be taken over by Sibir Novosibir.
The 24 teams will each play 62 games in regular time. As a result, there will be even more top matches as the CSKA and SKA teams and Salavat Yulaev and Ak Bars will meet six times. One of these “Green Derbies” between Ufa and Kazan will take place on 23 December 2019 in Davos, Switzerland, as “KHL World Games 2019”.
In addition to the match in Switzerland, there will be additional venues next to the respective club venues. So games will be played in Almaty and also in the Chinese city of Shenzhen. There, Kunlun Red Star will complete six of their home games.
For the third time the Estonian capital Talinn will host KHL games. Jokerit Helsinki and Severstal will face each other on the 10th and 11th of January.

The 24 clubs will play an average of 10-12 games a month, with no more than 13 games per calendar month. Only tractor Chelyabinsk will once play 14 games in a month. With the new edition of the Gagarin Cup final between CSKA Moscow and Avangard Omsk the new season will start on the 1st of September. As a result, 744 games will be played in 153 days ending on February 27, 2020. Then the playoffs start, although there will be no changes to last year. In each of the first two rounds there will be playoff matches for both shows, after which West and East will be split, with the teams meeting every other day.

KHL schedule 2019-20