Team Lithuania #8 Dainius Zubrus (c) Franz Berger/BalticsMedia

After the two victories over Estonia Coach Lacroix also wanted to win against the team of Poland. Poland’s young 21-year-old Alan Lyszczarczyk, who scored 71 scorer points (35G / 36A) this year at Mississauga Stealheads in the OHL. Aaron Chmielewsky was not there yet, he plays in the Czech Extraliga with the HC Trinec in the final. In Lithuania Coach Lacroix had all the players with him. Above all, Nerijus Alisauskas, who had played in the KHL at Dinamo Riga an excellent season. Also all Germany legionaries are there. Arnoldas Bosas (GER3, Hanover Indians), Tadas Kumeliauskas (GER3, Memmingen), Povilas Verenis (GER3, Waldkraiburg), Danielius Nomanovas, Daniel Bogdziul (both GER4, Nordhorn). Also Elilijus Krakauskas (NLB, EHC Kloten) and playing president of Lithuania, Dainius Zubrus.

In the first period Lithuania played the game, with many good chances. Poland’s goalie Murray had to use his skills to avoid a goal early on. In the middle of the session, Lithuania played a power play and Dinamo Riga’s defender, Nerijus Alisauskas, scored the 1-0 (10.). However, Poland could then make the game open and it went with this narrow lead in the first break.

After the break, Lithuania again increased pressure and forced Poland to penalties. A few minutes after the restart, Lithuania came back to a power play. This time it was Alisauskas who scored 2-0 (24.). This gate broke the sprain in Lithuania and it showed the signature of Lacroix. The team seemed closed and by train to the gate, probably because with Dainius Zubris a very experienced player (1293 games in the NHL) was in the ranks. Shortly before the break, the preliminary decision fell when Switzerland legionary Krakauskas, in another power play, the 3-0 scored (39.).

Lithuania continued to dominate the final period, but the chances were very good. Poland found herself with this defeat. Lithuania played this result very routinely over time and also wins this game.

Team Lithuania vs Team Poland 3-0 (1-0, 2-0, 0-0)